Knitting Socks with Toothpicks!

July 6, 2010 at 9:00 pm 1 comment


Knitting socks is NOT for the faint of heart!  This is my first “sock encounter” and it’s been full of trials and tribulations.  Learning to “knit with toothpicks” (size 2 double pointed needles) has been it’s own challenge.  However, knitting a circular object in a squared design has offered challenges that I wasn’t sure I could handle.

I’ve torn out the sock four times and started over.  The wonderful self-striping yarn had begun to fray…so I was determined to make this work.  I’m not one to be conquered by a knitting pattern or 5 little toothpicks (that’s what I call size 2 knitting needles).

Turning the heel was an intimidating thought until I found a wonderful instructional video on YouTube by the KnitWitch .  This video helped me understand how to do this and my heel turned out beautifully!  Working the gusset was even more easy because of her explanation about using the slip stitches on the end of each row to pick up the gusset.

I’m still finishing the “foot” part of the sock, and have yet to finish the toe….but I will.  I hope the second sock is easier!  More to come….stay tuned!


Entry filed under: Knitting, Socks. Tags: , , .

Needle Felted Jacket Felted Wool Bunny

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cindy Shaw  |  July 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Way to go, girl. I knew that you could do it. Remember, don’t make it 7 inches long :) unless of course you are making it for a monster with large feet.
    c

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want to receive a notice when there are fun and exciting updates to this blog? Just enter your email address below.

Join 29 other followers

Click HERE to FEED HUNGRY DOGS

AD Free Blog

Most Popular Posts

I AM Digitally Distinct – Are You?

I am digitally distinct! Visit onlineIDCalculator.com

Copyscape

Protected by Copyscape DMCA Takedown Notice Search Tool

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

